"Awarded to those who exemplify the qualities of outstanding business leadership and high ethical standards that characterize Alan J. Hoener."


This award was created by the club in 2011 under President Dick Sant to be given to both a Rotarian and a community organization in honor of Alan J. Hoener. Alan became a member of the Rotary Club of Webster Groves, served as club president in 1972, and district governor in 1978.

In 1985, then District Governor H. Middleton asked Alan to begin a district committee on international youth exchange, its first. As an outcome of the committee's work the district's first international exchange student was sponsored by the Rotary Club of Webster Groves. The program has become one of the club's most successful international projects sponsoring one or two international high schools students each academic year. Alan also created the first officer training program for the Webster Groves club recognizing the challenge of the tasks placed upon inexperienced club members willing to take on the responsibilities of leadership in Rotary and the community. The program has grown into a model used through out Rotary.

The first Rotarian to receive this award was Steve LaBarge, and the first community leader to receive the award was Ed Johnson, Executive director of Webster Rock Hill Ministries in 2011. Marion Cairns received the 2012 Alan J. Hoener community leader award, and Mark Lemcke of Lemcke Appliance received the business leadership award.